Miguel Indurain inducted into Giro d'Italia Hall of Fame

Miguel Indurain inducted into Giro d'Italia Hall of Fame

Two-time Giro d’Italia winner Miguel Indurain has been inducted into the race’s Hall of Fame. The Spaniard, who won the event in 1992 and 1993, before finishing third to Evgeni Berzin in 1994, called the news an honour. The announcement comes 25 years since the former Banesto rider last won the race. Indurain was the first Spaniard to win the Giro, and the first rider since Eddy Merckx to retain his crown a year later.

“I am highly honoured to be part of this exclusive Giro d'Italia family. 25 years after my last victory in 1993, I am very pleased that the organizers have thought about me. I have always had a truly special relationship with Italy,” Indurain said.

The Giro’s Hall of Fame was set up in 2012 with Eddy Merckx unveiled as its first official member. The Belgian was later joined by Felice Gimondi, Francesco Moser, Bernard Hinault and Stephen Roche.

Indurain won the 1992 edition of the Giro after claiming his debut Tour de France in 1991. He went on to win the Tour five times but retired in 1996 after Bjarne Riis ended the Spaniard’s quest to win a record sixth title. Riis later confessed to doping, while the 1990s were synonymous with widespread drug use.


Write a comment